The Metropolitan Area of León - How To Share Land and Landscape

León 2013 / Mexico
Professionnal workshop
22 November 2013 / 6 December 2013


The recent development of the Metropolitan Area of León has created a hybrid space which we can read as a mosaic of different elements with varied uses, identities and sizes; installed as autonomous elements rather than having been planned on a bigger scale as part of a whole; a dynamic of individual initiatives based on the market forces and on the availability of spaces.
This politics of growth, where a disjointed puzzle has piece after piece added to it, creates a porous matrix, full of gaps and absences. From this point of view, one possible strategic way of seeing the city will be to rethink the Metropolitan Area of León through looking at its empty spaces, so as to reinforce its cohesion and to give a structure to its complex web; on the scale of the urban framework of León and the other urban centres of Silao, Purísima y San Francisco del Rincón, and on the wider scale of the whole conurbation.
Given the current dynamic and the trends observed, it is essential to tackle the question of coherence within the conurbation and to understand a landscape, and a shared urban environment, as a common good which transcends the limits of administrative management.

participer

The selection of the 21 participants is conducted by the team organising the workshop, on the basis on the candidates’ professional capabilities, their experience on similar topics, their approach to the subject of the workshops, their communication skills (both in terms of language and in terms of their skill at using graphics) and their interest and enthusiasm!

To apply, please send an email by Sunday 8th September 2013 at the latest to leon@ateliers.org, with one single PDF document (file name: SURNAME_first name) containing the following elements:
- Completed Application form (which can be downloaded from www.ateliers.org
- CV (1 or 2 pages long)
- One or two pages in which you explain the nature of your interest in participating in the workshop, the skills/ experiences which you can build on, and above all your initial ideas on the topic (either in text form and/or using graphics).
The results of the selection will be announced between two and three weeks later.

schedule

Deadline for applications : September 8, 2013
Announcement of selected participants : September 2013
Workshop from November 22nd to December 6th 2013

pilot

Pilots: Rémi Ferrand, architect-engineer and Oriol Monfort, architect- town-planner
Assistant Pilots: Thomas Casanova, architect- town-planner, Marion Joly, architect
Supervising the project, from Les Ateliers : Claire Vigé Hélie and Léa Morfoisse

partners





- Contact

Zone Métropolitaine de León, sols et paysage à partager

León 2013 / Mexique
Ateliers de professionnels
22 novembre 2013 / 6 décembre 2013


Le développement récent de la Zone Métropolitaine de León (ZML) a engendré un espace hybride, une mosaïque de pièces urbaines d’usages variés et de tailles différentes. Ces éléments autonomes ne semblent être régis dans leur installation ou leur développement par aucune planification d’ensemble. Seule une dynamique d’initiative privée basée sur le marché et la libre disposition des sols semble être à l’origine de la situation. Cette logique de croissance, organisée autour de pièces disjointes, génère une matrice urbaine poreuse aux multiples
interstices.

L’ambition de l’Atelier de León consiste à prendre en compte cette spécificité pour proposer une nouvelle vision stratégique : repenser la ZML par ses vides pour renforcer sa cohésion et structurer les tissus. Cette réflexion s’organisera à l’échelle de la trame urbaine de León et des autres centres urbains que sont Silao, Purísima y San Francisco del Rincón, aussi bien qu’à l’échelle de toute la métropole. Devant les tendances observées, il est indispensable d’aborder la cohérence métropolitaine en développant la notion de « bien commun » d’un paysage ou d’un environnement urbain partagé, au-delà des limites de la gestion administrative.

participer

La sélection des 21 participants est faite par l’équipe de pilotage de l’atelier sur la base des capacités professionnelles des candidats, de leur expérience de thèmes similaires, de leur approche du sujet, de leurs facilités à communiquer (langues, expressions graphiques) et de leur motivation !

Pour présenter votre candidature, merci d’envoyer par email au plus tard le dimanche 8 septembre 2013 à l’adresse leon@ateliers.org un document PDF unique (Nom du fichier : NOM_prenom ) contenant les éléments suivants :

▸ Fiche de candidature complétée (à télécharger sur www.ateliers.org).
▸ CV en 1 ou 2 pages.
▸ Note d’une ou deux pages dans laquelle vous expliquez la nature de votre intérêt à participer, les compétences/expériences que vous pouvez mettre à profit, et surtout vos premières idées sur le sujet (sous forme texte et/ou graphique).

Les résultats de la sélection seront annoncés entre deux et trois semaines plus tard.

calendrier

Fin de l’appel à candidature : 8 septembre 2013
Annonce de la sélection : courant septembre 2013
Atelier : du 22 novembre au 6 décembre 2013

pilotage

Pilotes : Rémi Ferrand, architecte-ingénieur et Oriol Monfort, architecte-urbaniste
Assistant-pilote : Thomas Casanova, architecte-urbaniste, Marion Joly, architecte
Référents Ateliers : Claire Vigé Hélie et Léa Morfoisse

partenaires





- Contacts