Thiès, "Crossroads town"

Thiès 2012 / Senegal
Professionnal workshop
20 October 2012 / 3 November 2012


Working out a sustainable development strategy and restoring the various environmental balances to promote the development of the Thiès Senegalese potential in new regional balances amid an urban expansion territory through a shared qualitative common project meeting the local and global issues.

The Thiès region is on the border of the Dakar metropolis, which is gathering 30% of the national population, representing more than 70% of the country’s economy, on about 0.33% of the Senegal territory. This high concentration presents unfettered occupations and a lack of infrastructures to meet the needs of its inhabitants. On top of that, there are environmental issues related to the management of the natural resources. Dakar must find more space. The construction of the new international airport in Diass reestablishes the consistency of the Dakar/Mbour/Thiès triangle. Thus, the city of Thiès can be a balanced territory due to its proximity with Dakar as well as with its position as a crossroads city.

Articulating the management of the natural resources - for example the management of water - with the land management, allows us to initiate a sustainable planning approach. In order to reverse the current spatial mismatch phenomenon, Thiès has got an important environmental, cultural and economic part to play, despite the constraints it faces. That is why the mayor of the city of Thiès, concerned about acquiring a better mastery of its development, has asked to les Ateliers to think about the role of the city at a national scale, and the issues it infers locally.

schedule

June, 25th : Call for application

July, 19th: deadline to apply

July, 27th: results of the selection

October, 1st: analysis file released

Octobre, 20th: Workshop starts

November 1-2-3: Jury of the workshop

pilot

Pilots: Luc Raimbault, Delphine Baldé
Assistant-pilot : Therese WADE and
Referent for les Ateliers: Antoine Plane
Referent for the Municipality of Thiès: M. Hamet Tidiane THIAW
Referent for the municipality of Cergy : Elise Garcia

partners








- Contact

Thiès, « Ville carrefour »

Thiès 2012 / Sénégal
Ateliers de professionnels
20 octobre 2012 / 3 novembre 2012


Elaborer une stratégie de développement durable et rétablir les différents équilibres environnementaux pour promouvoir le développement du potentiel thiessois dans de nouveaux équilibres régionaux, sur un territoire en pleine expansion urbaine, à travers un projet commun qualitatif, partagé, répondant aux problématiques locales et globales.

La région de Thiès est frontalière à la métropole Dakaroise qui rassemble, sur 0,33% seulement du territoire du Sénégal, 30% de la population nationale et aspire plus de 70% de l’économie du pays. Cette forte concentration s’accompagne d’occupations non maîtrisées et d’un manque d’infrastructures pour répondre aux besoins de ses habitants. A cela s’ajoutent les problèmes environnementaux, liés à la gestion des ressources naturelles. Dakar doit trouver de nouveaux espaces. La construction du nouvel aéroport international à Diass redonne une cohérence au tripode Dakar / Mbour / Thiès. Ainsi, la Ville de Thiès peut être un territoire d’équilibre en raison de sa proximité avec Dakar mais aussi de sa position de ville carrefour.

Articuler les réflexions menées sur la gestion des ressources naturelles, sur la gestion de l’eau notamment et les réflexions sur la gestion foncière, permet d’initier une démarche d’aménagement durable. Pour inverser le phénomène tendanciel de déséquilibre spatial plus important, la région de Thiès, malgré ses contraintes, a un rôle important à jouer, autant sur le plan environnemental que sur le plan culturel et économique. C’est pourquoi, le maire de Thiès, soucieux d’une meilleure maîtrise de son développement, a sollicité les Ateliers pour réfléchir sur la place de la Ville dans la recherche de nouveaux équilibres nationaux et les différentes problématiques que cela induit.

calendrier

25 juin
parution de l’appel à candidature

19 juillet
date limite de candidature

27 juillet
diffusion des résultats de la selection

1er octobre
parution du dossier d’analyse

20 octobre
début de l’atelier

1-2-3 novembre
jury de l’atelier

pilotage

Pilotes
Delphine Baldé, architecte-urbaniste
Luc Raimbault, urbaniste.

Assistants-pilotes
Thérèse Wade

Référent Local
M. Hamet Tidiane THIAW

Référente Ville de Cergy
Elise Garcia

Référent Atelier
Antoine PLANE

partenaires








- Contacts