Become a member of les ateliers
Join us

Our central conviction that a mix of cultures, approaches, skills and backgrounds is needed gives birth to the basic principles that structure all of our workshops:

Blending diversities

We always embrace the challenge of bringing together participants from a range of different backgrounds, ages, cultures and disciplines.

Freedom of proposal

This is the deal with the local authorities: the teams participating in Les Ateliers workshops have complete freedom of proposal. As participants are always involved on a voluntary basis, there is no contractor/client relationship, and teams are encouraged to voice their individual convictions.

Obligation to produce

Freedom of proposal is directly linked to a strong requirement for an end product. Therefore each workshop produces a significant amount of analysis and many ideas, which are always illustrated and justified.

A contributing jury

The teams are motivated by the prospect of presenting their proposals to a high-profile international jury. This jury has no role to judge or to rank the teams – a workshop is not a competition. The jury’s role is rather to be a contributor to the collective process of the workshop, by identifying within the overall output, the elements of analysis and ideas which are the most relevant, useful and can be implemented by the local authorities and their partners.

The role of the artists

Les Ateliers are convinced that artists make a significant contribution to how cities evolve, are created and built. We therefore collaborate with artists throughout each workshop, enabling them to contribute to the engaging processes which involve posing questions and making proposals.

Coproduction / exchange forum

During the whole process of a workshop from the beginning until the end, we always work in collaboration with local professionals, local authorities and their partners. During the workshop, exchange forums are held which enable the sharing of knowledge and ideas, allowing the teams to present their ideas, strategies and proposals.

Warmth and fun!

Les Ateliers is an intense working experience. Participants are involved between two to four weeks on a challenging topic and with people from many different backgrounds. However, it is also a very powerful experience, reaching beyond borders, and in a warm, friendly and hard-working environment.

- Contact

Rejoignez les ateliers
Devenez membre

Notre conviction fondamentale d’une nécessité d’un mélange des cultures, des métiers, des sensibilités et des compétences, est à l’origine des principes de préparation et d’organisation de tous nos ateliers :

Rencontre des diversités

Il faut oser faire travailler ensemble des étudiants ou des professionnels d’univers très différents. Ainsi chaque atelier réunit dans les équipes comme dans le jury des personnes de professions, d’âges et de cultures très diversifiés.

Liberté de proposition

La parole des Ateliers est libre, c’est le contrat de départ avec les autorités locales. Puisque tous les participants sont toujours volontaires, nous ne sommes jamais dans une relation client / prestataire.

Obligation de produire

A cette totale liberté de proposition est associée une exigence forte de production, dans un esprit professionnel et responsable. Chaque atelier produit ainsi une quantité importante d’analyses et de projets, qui doivent toujours être illustrés et argumentés.

Un jury contributeur

Les équipes sont stimulées par la perspective de présenter chacune leurs propositions à un jury international de haut niveau. Il n’a pas pour rôle de juger ou d’établir un classement, mais d’être contributeur de l’atelier en identifiant au sein de la production globale et au bénéfice des maîtres d’ouvrage les éléments d’analyse et de projet les plus pertinents à mettre en oeuvre.

Coproduction / forum d’échange

Nous travaillons toujours en coproduction avec les professionnels locaux, les maîtres d’ouvrage et leurs partenaires. Au cours de l’atelier, les forums d’échange permettent de décrypter collectivement la situation et de tester des idées de stratégies ou de projets.

La place des artistes

Les Ateliers sont convaincus que les artistes ont un apport significatif sur la manière de concevoir et de construire la ville. Nous associons donc des artistes à nos ateliers, qui accompagnent le processus d’interrogation et contribuent ainsi à la production globale.

Convivialité

Les Ateliers sont une expérience de travail intense, difficile par la diversité des participants et l’ampleur des sujets traités, mais aussi une expérience humaine très forte, dans une ambiance hors frontières, conviviale, festive et studieuse.

- Contacts