Ben U'Sen, a consolidated illegal settlement

Diyarbakir 2011 / Turkey
Professionnal workshop
8 October 2011 / 22 October 2011


In Turkey, most cities are swiftly changing due to the demographic and economic growth, and the increase of their standard of living. This urban development is led by private companies and by the National Agency for Housing Development, the TOKI. In this « housing race «, the regeneration operations of illegal districts (qualified as insanitary = gecekondu in Turkish) are quite often radical. The districts are being demolished and their population is being relocated in the suburbs in 5 to 15 storey projects.

The municipality of Diyarbakir, the main city in the Eastern Anatolia region of Turkey, with a population of almost 1 million, has decided to reduce the gecekondu, with the support of the TOKI. While Diyarbakir’s mayor recognized the importance of this urban fabric and the fact that its adapted to the immigrant population’s way of life, the city has decided to lead an experimental project in Ben U Sen, which is one of the oldest and the main gecekondu in the city, with an estimated population of 20 000. The district is located at the foot of the walls surrounding the historical center, which look over the market gardening farms of the Tigris river valley, next to the the city’s urbanized area. This innovating operation’s goal is to maintain most of the current population in the area, and in a more global way, to experiment new intervention ways on the Turkish gecekundu.

This will is shared by the Mayor of Yenisehir (local administration, location of Ben U Sen), and supported by the Mayor of Rennes, whose city has been cooperating for almost 30 years, and also supported by the AFD (French Agency for Development). These partners have asked Les Ateliers to organize an international urban planning workshop with local and international professionnals in order to work on the evolution potentials of the Ben U Sen district, and to propose an intervention plan that will keep the population on site. The TOKI should be involved in the collaborative process in order to make a profitable contribution for the renewal of the national agency’s methods.

pilot

Marc Errera, Belgium, architect
Marie-Marie Penicaud, France, landscape architect
Zeynep Sıla Akıncı, Turkey, architect
Albin Lazare, France, political science
Nicolas Détrie, France, former director of Les Ateliers

partners






- Contact

Ben U Sen, quartier illégal consolidé

Diyarbakir 2011 / Turquie
Ateliers de professionnels
8 octobre 2011 / 22 octobre 2011


En Turquie, les villes connaissent aujourd’hui de fortes mutations liées à la croissance démographique, au développement économique et à l’augmentation du niveau de vie. Ce développement urbain est assuré par des opérateurs privés et par l’agence nationale du développement de l’habitat - le TOKI.
Dans cette course au logement, les opérations de renouvellement des quartiers illégaux et identifiés comme insalubres (gecekondu en turc) sont souvent assez radicales, avec démolition, relogement des populations en périphérie et constructions d’immeubles collectifs de 5 à 15 étages.

La Municipalité Métropolitaine de Diyarbakir, ville principale de l’est anatolien en Turquie comptant près d’un million d’habitants, a avec le soutien du TOKI la volonté de résorber les gecekondu. Reconnaissant par ailleurs l’intérêt de ce tissu urbain et de son adaptation au mode de vie des populations immigrantes qui y sont installées, le Maire de Diyarbakir envisage de lancer une opération pilote sur Ben U Sen, l’un des plus ancien et aujourd’hui le principal gecekondu de la Ville avec une population estimée à 20 000 habitants. Le quartier est situé au pied des murailles qui enserrent le centre historique et surplombent les jardins maraichers de la vallée du Tigre, en frange de la zone urbanisée de la ville. Le caractère innovant de cette opération est le souhait de maintenir sur place la plus grande partie des habitants actuels, et plus généralement d’expérimenter de nouvelles manières d’intervenir sur les gecekundu en Turquie.

Cette volonté est partagée par le Maire de Yenisehir (entité administrative sur laquelle est situé Ben U Sen), encouragée par le Maire de Rennes, avec qui des liens forts de coopération existent depuis près de 30 ans, et soutenue par l’Agence Française de Développement. Ces partenaires ont ensemble sollicité l’association Les Ateliers Internationaux de Maitrise d’oeuvre urbaine de Cergy-Pontoise pour l’organisation d’un atelier de production collective réunissant des professionnels locaux avec des professionnels d’autres pays pour travailler sur les potentiels d’évolution du quartier de Ben U Sen, et proposer des processus d’intervention permettant de maintenir sur place la population. Il est prévu et souhaité par tous les partenaires d’associer le TOKI à ce projet, pour que ces travaux puissent contribuer aux réflexions actuelles de l’agence nationale sur le renouvellement de ses pratiques.

pilotage

Marc Errera, architecte-urbaniste, Belgique,
Marie-Marie Pénicaud, paysagiste, France,
Zeynep Sıla Akıncı, urbaniste, Turquie,
Albin Lazare, sciences politiques, France
Nicolas Détrie, Ancien directeur des Ateliers, France

partenaires






- Contacts