Supporting sustainable urban development in Cao Lanh

Cao Lanh 2010 / Vietnam
Professionnal workshop
28 May 2010 / 13 June 2010


Following a first vietnamese experience of an Ateliers Session in October 2007, which was held in An Giang, in the province of Mekong Delta, the neighbour province of Dong Thap has decided to consult Les Ateliers, in order to organize a session during 2009 about the provinces’ urban plannig.

The province is, indeed, faced to a country-broad rise in population, which is accompanying the economic growth, especially in urban area. According to the 2006-2010 plan, the economic growth will be of an average 11%/year, of which 17 % for the industrial sector, and 12.9% for the service sector.

Cao Lanh is the capital of the province of Dong Thap, located in the Mekong Delta. Its two main economic strength come from its exceptional natural assets: fish farming and rice cultivation, bothenabled by the Mekong river. The province has also begun to develop industries and construction.

This economic development triggers a high population growth. The current population of the town of Cao Lanh is 172 000 inhabitants with a growth rate of 2.34% per year. It should reach in 2020 a population of 217 000 inhabitants, i.e. 45 000 additional inhabitants. To cope with this economic and demographic development, Cao Lanh needs to consider extension zones and improve the equipment of the existing city. It aims to meet in 2020 the urban criteria allowing it to rise to the level 2 in the hierarchy of Vietnamese cities. The purpose of the workshop is to make urban planning proposals for sustainable urban development.

pilot

Pilotes : Nelly Barbieri - Architecte-Urban planner & Quoc-Bao Truong - Architect-Urban planner

Decision Board : Corinne Lamarque - Urban planner & Gilles Hubert - Urban planner

partners






- Contact

Accompagner le développement urbain durable de Cao Lanh

Cao Lanh 2010 / Vietnam
Ateliers de professionnels
28 mai 2010 / 13 juin 2010


Suite à l’expérience de la session des Ateliers d’Octobre 2007, qui s’est tenue au Vietnam à An Giang, province du Delta du Mékong, la province voisine de Dong Thap a souhaité consulter les Ateliers afin d’organiser une session dans le courant de l’année 2009 sur l’aménagement urbain de la province.

La province est, en effet, confrontée à une situation générale au Vietnam, de forte augmentation de la population, notamment urbaine, qui accompagne la croissance économique. Selon le plan 2006 - 2010, la croissance économique serait de 11 % en moyenne annuelle, dont 17 % pour le secteur secondaire et 12,9 % pour le secteur tertiaire.

Cao Lanh est le chef-lieu de la province de Dong Thap, située dans le delta du Mékong. Ses deux principales richesses économiques proviennent de ses richesses naturelles exceptionnelles : la fertilité des sols pour la riziculture et la présence du Mékong avec la pisciculture. La province s’est aussi engagée dans le développement industriel et la construction.

Ce développement économique s’accompagne d’une forte croissance de la population. La population actuelle de la ville de Cao Lanh est de 172 000 habitants avec un taux de croissance de 2,34% / an. Elle devrait atteindre en 2020, une population de 217 000 habitants, soit 45 000 habitants supplémentaires. Pour faire face à ce développement économique et démographique, Cao Lanh se doit d’aménager les zones d’extension et aussi d’améliorer l’équipement de la ville existante. Elle a pour ambition de satisfaire en 2020, aux critères urbains lui permettant de s’élever au niveau 2 dans la hiérarchie des villes vietnamiennes.

L’Atelier a pour objet de faire des propositions d’aménagement urbain durable pour ce développement.

pilotage

Pilote : Nelly Barbieri - Architecte-Urbaniste et Quoc-Bao Truong - Architecte-Urbaniste

Comité de Pilotage Corinne Lamarque - Urbaniste et Gilles Hubert - Urbaniste

partenaires






- Contacts